

National Association of Pretrial Services Agencies 50th Annual Conference and Training Institute September 17-20, 2023 New Orleans Marriott

CALL FOR 2023 AWARD NOMINATIONS

The NAPSA Board of Directors is asking for nominations to recognize those who have significantly contributed to the field of pretrial services. The awards will be given at the 50th Annual Conference and Training Institute, September 17-20, 2023 at the New Orleans Marriott in New Orleans, Louisiana. We hope that you will take the time to nominate those whom you believe meet the criteria and who have made significant contributions to this field. *Award nominations must be submitted no later than the end of business on Friday, August 11, 2023 to be considered.* To nominate a person for the Olgiati Award, Member of the Year, or Beaudin Award, please submit the nomination form and a letter of support to NAPSA at execdirector@napsa.org. Nominating letters should include the reasons you believe the nominee is deserving of the award. Emphasis should be placed on contributions to the pretrial profession and NAPSA. There is no limit on length and a nominating form is attached. The award descriptions are below:

THE ENNIS J. OLGIATI AWARD

The Ennis J. Olgiati Award is a lifetime achievement award in the field of pretrial services. This award is NAPSA's highest honor given in memory of Ennis "Joe" Olgiati, former director of the Manhattan Court Employment Project. Joe was one of the early guiding forces in the pretrial diversion movement who served several terms on the NAPSA Board of Directors. He died in the late 1970's, shortly after being named Chair of the New York State Parole Board. The Olgiati Award was established to honor agencies and individuals having a national impact on pretrial policies and operations. It is *not* necessary for an Olgiati Award candidate to be a current NAPSA member.

MEMBER OF THE YEAR AWARD

In 1984, the NAPSA Board of Directors established the Member of the Year Award. The award is given to honor a current NAPSA member (line staff or manager), who has made a significant contribution to the Association and/or the pretrial services profession. It was presented for the first time in New Orleans, Louisiana (July 1984) to Jim Droege, Director of the Marion County (Indianapolis, Indiana) Pretrial Service Agency. A candidate for NAPSA Member of the Year must be a NAPSA member.

THE BRUCE BEAUDIN AWARD

The Bruce Beaudin Award was first awarded in 1995 and is presented to a line staff person, and/or an individual who has line staff responsibilities, and exemplifies the goals and objectives of the pretrial services profession. The award is given in honor of Bruce Beaudin, former Director of the D.C. Pretrial Services Agency and founding president of NAPSA in 1972. The Beaudin Award candidate must be a line staff worker or a person who, in addition to other duties, has line staff responsibilities.

Please complete the attached nomination form and return to execdirector@napsa.org.



NAPSA AWARD NOMINATION - 2023

Your Name:	
Agency:	
Email address:	Phone #
Nominate this awara	!(please select one)
Olgiati Award	Individual does <u>not</u> have to be a current NAPSA member
Member of the Year	Individual <u>must</u> be a current NAPSA member
Beaudin Award	Individual <u>must</u> be a line staff worker or a person who, in addition to other duties, has line staff responsibilities
Name of Nominee:	
Agency/Organization:	
Address:	
Email address:	Phone #

Please explain why you believe this person should receive this award by attaching a letter of support to this nomination form. Please return completed form to execdirector@napsa.org.